About Warren
The Hon. Warren Truss MP is Deputy Prime Minister of Australia and the Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development.

He became Leader of the Nationals in 2007 and is the longest serving federal leader of any political party in Australia today.

A third generation farmer from the Kumbia district near Kingaroy in Queensland, Mr Truss first won the federal seat of Wide Bay in 1990.

He was a Minister in the Howard Government for 10 years, serving as Minister for Customs and Consumer Affairs in October 1997, and a year later, Minister for Community Services. In July 1999 Mr Truss became the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, where he served for six years. He became Minister for Transport and Regional Services in July 2005 and, in September 2006, was appointed Minister for Trade.

Before entering Parliament, Mr Truss was a Kingaroy Shire Councillor (1976 to 1990), including seven years as Mayor. He was Deputy Chairman of the Queensland Grain Handling Authority and a member of the State Council of the Queensland Graingrowers Association for more than 10 years.

Mr Truss is also former State and National President of the Rural Youth Organisation and President of the Lutheran Youth of Queensland.

At the 2013 federal election, Mr Truss led The Nationals to the Party"s best electoral result in 30 years.
 Office: 319 Kent Street Maryborough Qld 4650   Phone:  (07) 4121 2936 or 1300 301 968   
 Correspondence: P.O. Box 283 Maryborough Qld 4650 Fax: (07) 4122 3968
Authorised by W.Truss, 319 Kent St Maryborough Visitors: 655,371Site by Willco Computers